Poirot Season 7

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.


Episode 1 The Murder of Roger Ackroyd

Based on the novel by Agatha Christie and aired in January 2000. Poirot has retired to the country to grow vegetable marrows but his retirement doesn’t last long when a wealthy local business man is found stabbed.

Hercule Poirot, David Suchet

Chief Inspector Japp, Philip Jackson

Dr. Sheppard, Oliver Ford Davies

Roger Ackroyd, Malcolm Terris

Caroline Sheppard, Selina Cadell

Ursula Bourne, Daisy Beaumont

Flora Ackroyd, Flora Montgomery

Geoffrey Raymond, Nigel Cooke

Ralph Paton, Jamie Bamber

Parker, Roger Frost

Mrs. Ackroyd, Vivien Heilbron

Inspector Davis, Gregor Truter

Mrs. Ferrars, Rosalind Bailey

Mrs. Folliott, Liz Kettle

Hammond, Charles Simon

Constable Jones, Chas Early

Landlord, Graham Chinn

Naval Officer, Clive Brunt

Mary, Alice Hart

Postman, Philip Wrigley

Ted, Phil Atkinson

Castle Combe in Wiltshire, England was used of as the village of Kings Abbot in the filming of ‘The Murder of Roger Ackroyd’ .

‘Kit’s Close’ in Fawley, Henley-on-Thames was used for Ackroyd’s house. The building was designed and built by Christopher Nicholson in 1936-7.

Kepton Steam Museum was used for the factory scenes. 

Episode 1 season 7 of the Poirot series is a close portrayal of one of Agatha Christie’s early novels which was published in 1926.

Oliver Ford Davies (Dr Sheppard) has appeared in two other Christie television adaptations. He played Major Palgrave in the 2008 Marple episode of ‘A Caribbean Mystery’ as well as Col. Geoffrey Reese in the 2003 TV film ‘ Sparkling Cyanide’. 

Roger Frost (Parker) also appeared in the same adaptation of ‘Sparkling Cyanide’ as Henry Barlow.

Selina Cole (Caroline Sheppard) appeared in a 1985 adaptation of ‘A Pocket Full of Rye’ in the role of Mary Dove.

The actress Flora Montgomery played Flora Ackroyd – easy to remember her character’s name then!


Episode 2 Lord Edgware Dies

Based on the novel by Agatha Christie and aired in March 2006. 

Hercule Poirot, David Suchet

Hastings, Hugh Fraser

Chief Inspector Japp, Philip Jackson

Miss Lemon, Pauline Moran

Jane Wilkinson, Helen Grace

Lord Edgware, John Castle

Carlotta Adams, Fiona Allen

Bryan Martin, Dominic Guard

Penny Driver, Deborah Cornelius

Geraldine Marsh, Hannah Yelland

Ronald Marsh, Tim Steed

Miss Carroll, Lesley Nightingale

Alton, Christopher Guard

Donald Ross, Iain Fraser

Duke of Merton, Tom Beard

Alice, Virginia Denham

Sir Montagu Corner, John Quentin

Lady Corner, Janet Hargreaves

Lucie Adams, Aliza James

Addison, Mark Brignal

Ellis, Fenella Woolgar

Thompson, John Hart Dyke

Receptionist, Jonathan Aris

Pageboy, Rory Firth

Airport Clerk, Nicola Michaels

Based on the novel by Agatha Christie ‘Cards on the Table’ published in 1936

An earlier film adaptation of ‘Lord Edgware Dies’ was made in 1985 starring Peter Ustinov titled ‘Thirteen at Dinner’ and included David Suchet in the role of Japp. 

The actress who played Geraldine Marsh is the real life daughter of the actor David Yelland who played Poirot’s valet ‘George’ in various episodes. 

Fenella Woolgar (Ellis) is a Christie regular – she played Miss Whittaker in the 2010 episoed of ‘Hallowe’en Party’.  She also played Agatha Christie herself in a Doctor Who episode ‘The Unicorn and the Wasp.

John Castle (Lord Edgware) previously appeared in two Marple adaptations (both starring Joan Hickson in the role of Miss Marple); he played Detective Inspector Craddock in both the 1992 television feature film of ‘The Mirror Crack’d from Side to Side’  and in the 1985 mini series of ‘A Murder is Announced’.